My TED Like Talk

 


Over the past couple weeks, I made a presentation, specifically a TED talk.

A TED talk is a recorded public-speaking presentation that was originally given at the main TED (technology, entertainment and design) annual event or one of its many satellite events around the world. Tech Target .com states. but my Ted talk was off the script. I did my TEDTalk in front of my Language Arts class, and it was not recorded.

When I was brainstorming about my Ted like Talk, I knew I wanted to be out about the artist Taylor Swift, but I didn’t know how in five minutes I could cover everything this amazing artist had done. About a week later I was scrolling through Netflix and I saw the Miss Americana documentary. Miss Americana reveals intimate details of her life while showcasing backstage and onstage concert footage. One part of this that stood out to me was when Taylor Swift was releasing her political views for the first time. Then it hit me! I should talk about Taylor Swift, not caring what other people thought of her anymore. Her journey to her Reputation era.

Now that I have my idea to start my presentation, how do I start? Following Chris Anderson’s tips for effective public speaking I’ll start with a game and I’ll grab your attention right away and I’ll keep it. To also follow his tips. I’m not going to be negative about the scenario I’m talking about.

One of the final steps was practicing and getting ready. I spent a good chunk of time in my family’s workout room, screen mirroring the presentation on to the T.V and getting ready. Finally, the day came, my presentation was smooth, no technical difficulties, no forgetting my script! But I think the best moment was when my classmates commented on what I did well; their appreciation and comments made all this work worth it!

29emmyt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *